Out Came the Sun. Judith Scott.

“Are you telling me she will never read?” I say, because this seems to me the worst of all the limits he has listed. 

     “Absolutely not,” he replies, so certain, so dispassionate. I crumple and need to leave. Somehow we are out in the hall, then in the hospital stairwell together, holding each other. I cry into Greg’s coat, “What will we do?”

     The floor tips and I cannot see or breathe.

 

So begins the most personal, honest and intimate journey I have vicariously taken in quite some time.  A journey of grief, despair, hope, disappointment, joy, victory, and self discovery . . . all wrapped into one amazing memoir.  And the best part is Jude is willing to be honest and transparent . . . with all her victories and defeats, right there in black and white.  Jude has torn down the walls that paralyzed her with fear and self doubt and stepped into  the light of freedom, truth and authenticity.

 

And I am particularly proud and honored to know Jude, as she and I taught English across the hallway from one another in another season of our lives. She was the new hire from Indiana, who jumped right into teaching the seniors in her rookie year. We would commiserate between classes, thinking our lives were really hard . . . all those papers to grade and  minds to inspire . . . then we would exercise out the frustration at the day’s end.  I can certainly speak for us both . . . that wa’nt nothin. 

 

 Today Jude can  say with total conviction, “I wouldn’t change my journey with Emily for the world on a platter. She’s taught me so much about love, and helped me to grow in so many ways.”

 

If you want to be moved to laughter, tears and the myriad in the middle, jump onto the roller coaster of Out Came the Sun. I got off the ride kinda’ shaky, but so glad that I took it.

scott-11

 

 

 

scott-10

 

Jude and her man.

 

scott-8

 

The Linganore High School English Department circa 1990. 

 

scott-9

The family.

 

 

scott-7

 

Emily’s teacher posse.

 

scott-2

 

 

 

scott-1

 

 

 

scott-3

 

 

 

scott-5

 

and the neighbors . . . 

 

scott-4

 

all celebrating this beautiful, courageous, completely real woman.

 

scott-6

 

Just a side note . . . this memoir is incredibly well written. I, of course, would have continued reading regardless, for I adore Jude. However I found myself compelled to copy both phrases and passages into my journal, for the words just roll mellifluously out of her hand. I am already pressing for her next read.

Leave a Reply

