Toni. Pomeroy. Bling.

 

 

blog-3
I always thought that only the super wealthy had “personal jewelers,” but after working with Toni, I’ve joined the  club. Toni and I are both hometown girls, business owners and  wives and mothers of larger families, so we both play that plate spinning game. But when I went to Toni, said, “I need a birthday present for my mom, and this is my budget . . . ” and she knew exactly which bracelet would be the perfect mix of class and bling and made it FIT  my budget . . . I knew I found my girl. Not a pretentious bone in her tiny body.  Toni spends her days at  Pomeroy Jewelers on Main Street in Westminster (right across from the public library) in her elegant boutique. Stop in and meet Toni Pomeroy . . .  she’s a walking , talking party.
As a mother and a business owner, what are the most important things you do as a mom every day? Show and tell my kids that they are always my number 1 priority.  Sometimes we blur the lines a little and we need to remember what is really important in our lives, and that will always be my family.  Everyday is a clean slate that we get to start all over again.  We beat ourselves up about what we didn’t do yesterday, and in doing that, we waste today. 
 
 What are the most important things you do as a business owner every day? Being honest!!!   I can’t believe how many times people think by telling lies they gain respect.  You give what you get in this world.  Also I love people, all walks and types.  They give me the energy and enjoyment everyday.
What is your favorite part of being a jeweler? Least favorite? Guiding people on their journey through our store.  We are not salespeople; we are tour guides.  We have to listen to our clients’ needs and respond accordingly.    Least favorite?  hmmmmm . . . occasionally we do get some sad stories and I just want to take the pain away from people.   I end up crying with them.  And it stays with me.
What does a typical day look like for you? I get up at 6 am and wake up the first two for high school and make breakfast, start a load of laundry and clean up the kitchen.  Then I  see them off at 7 am and get the youngest up and ready for school.  He loves a big breakfast, so I make him eggs and toast or pancakes. Then I get ready around 8:30 and leave them house around 9:20.  Opps, I forgot.  I get the clothes from the washer into the dryer and leave a list and notes for the kids.
How do you keep your priorities in check? My family and coworkers keep me balanced at times.  I make a list sometimes in the morning of priorities for the day and check them off as I go.  I do forget some things at times.  I try not to beat my self up about what I forget and remind myself about what I did!!!
What do you do for fun? Spend time with my family and friends.  I love that I have 4 sisters and friends from high school that just get my quirkiness.  I love being goofy and fun.
How did you land as a jeweler?  I was 17 years old managing Claires Boutique and the Manager of Littman’s.  David offered me a job. Of course I took it and have never looked back.  I love what I do.  I learn more and more each day.
 
What’s on your ipod right now?Odd mix really.  I love James MorrisonJack Johnson, The Kooks and really every kind of music.  Music can put you a different place.  Kick off your shoes and enjoy the music. 
Three things on your bucket list. . See my kids grow up and become parents . . .  go to England . . . own a house on the beach and fall asleep to the sounds of the crashing waves. 
 
 
I would like to end by saying every day we have is a true gift.  Some days those gifts are not exactly what you were dreaming for, but still a gift.  What we do with those gifts is up to us.  I happened to be truly blessed by a great extended family and friends, who get me, love me and enjoy all of us being together.  Its not what we do its who we do it with.  Enjoy everyday and every moment.  Don’t waste it!
blog-7
blog-2
2 Responses to “Toni. Pomeroy. Bling.”

  1. What a great article! I always wondered who that girl on the billboard was! I popped into the store at Fallfest time and couldn’t believe the transformation! This is a good story – would love to see it in the CC Times!

  2. Great pictures and interview with one of the nicest people of the Westminster business community.
    Love her and you,

Leave a Reply

