York College. Roommates.

Twenty some years ago we five found ourselves away from home for the first time, a little bit homesick, but really excited about the possibilities ahead. Three dreamed of becoming nurses, two of teachers . . . we struggled through those growing years together knowing the value of ya’s in your corner. We’ve stayed connected, realizing that friendship is a precious thing.  And every year I learn new and important things about life. I come home energized and with a renewed focus and vision for my life. That’s part of the reason Carl encourages me to get away with my girlfriends at least once a year. The kids love it too. They get Daddy all to themselves. They go treasure hunting, baseball playing, Crunchberry-eating and movie watching. They sleep in all the wrong places, stay up too late and have the house neat as a pin when I return. I call that a WIN-WIN-WIN.

 

kathyfreundel-2

 

 

 

kathyfreundel-1

 

 

 

kathyfreundel-3

 

 

 

kathyfreundel-4

 

Here are some things I learned this trip.

1.  I want to start geo-caching.

2. I need to eat more avocados, raspberries and sweet potatoes.

3. I should buy a worm farm to eat my ktichen scraps and they will give me lovely loam to feed my garden.  

4. Scratch last year’s resolution to flip my mattress . . . 21 century mattresses don’t need to be flipped.

5. I need to buy a Weber and start grilling regularly . . . if I keep buying my cheap grills, I’ll just have to replace them every couple of years, but a Weber is pretty indestructible. 

 

When was the last time you stayed up too late without thinking about how dearly you’d pay the next day? The last time you laughed and cried in the same breath? The last time you shared a secret and found out you weren’t the only one?  

 

 It’s never too late to pick up where you left off.

4 Responses to “York College. Roommates.”

  1. Katie B Says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry to have missed this one. Love the pictures on the beach of my beautiful beautiful friends… Oh – and I’m so glad to hear I don’t have to flip my next mattress. Whew! Love you –

  2. Kathy Freundel Says:

    We missed you too 😦 But keep thinking Sanibel Island, dead of winter. Woot!

  3. Kathy – have you considered entering photos in – http://iheartfaces.blogspot.com/ – I might have mentioned this to you already, but you could take those contests by storm!

  4. […] group of friends from my first year at YCP . . . the ones  that know my good, bad and ugly, yet believe on the good . . .   they are […]

Leave a Reply

